Hailstorm!

Oh, hayall  no.  Just look these golfball- sized hailstones!  Some were as big as baseballs though.  And the sound of them falling all around sent Lily, my cat, scampering to the basement!  As per my usual, I just grabbed my camera and started snapping pics.  (I am the moron behind the door trying to keep my camera from getting zinged!)

So anyway, this scene kind of reminds me of this photo from a work in progress.  It began as a collage, which I translated into a pastel painting.  It was zen-like to draw all the little fish in this painting.

Here is a link to the collage: http://www.etsy.com/listing/47860335/ophelia-and-the-school-of-fish-colorful

I will save the finished painting to show you later.  My trip to the museum was most delightful.  I lingered near the Impressionists, trying to follow the strokes of Renoir and Modigliani. . .such seamlessness and so much delicate texture in the former and spirituality in the latter. ..

and also spent some time studying this Gerhard Richter painting: http://www.cosmopolis.ch/richter72.jpg  The texture of her fleecy jacket is almost palpable. . .and it takes all your concentration not to try and touch this piece!

Afterwards, I strolled around Forest Park, just taking in the lovely overcast day.  At one point while I was walking along the gravel path, I found a message scratched in the stones, “For a good time call (insert your phone number here).”

Made me wonder if somebody had peed there first!  🙂

Today I’m going to work on my iris painting.  See you soon.

Leave a Reply

