Lily of the Valley

And in his left he held a basket full
Of all sweet herbs that searching eye could cull
Wild thyme, and valley-lilies whiter still
Than Leda’s love, and cresses from the rill.
John Keats (1), Endymion (bk. I, l. 155)

http://www.etsy.com/listing/75100932/lily-of-the-valley-print-of-original

This piece evolved and evolved after putting in the initial strokes. ..lots of layers and some modeling paste added to the tiny blossoms.  The scent of these sends me straight back to the house my parents rented when I was little.  There was a corner grocer  on one side. ..and in spring the shade sheltered rows of these little cloudbursts of scent, such tender stems and sturdy.  We’d gather them and use for May baskets, those little cones made of staples and construction paper, then stuffed with popcorn and flowers.

4 responses

  1. What a great post and beautiful picture! Reminds me of when I was a little girl and I would sit at the side of my grandmother’s house where she had those fragrant flowers along the entire side. Thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

