The temple bell stops. . .

Morning Rituals:

After a refreshing breakfast consisting of an egg and sliced grapefruit, I went to water the garden and check on tiny new plants: tomatoes, basil, lavender and coreopsis, all of which seem to be adjusting just fine and thriving in their new home.

The peace rose I planted four years ago now stands five feet tall among them and its blooms are heady with scent.

“I’d rather have roses on my table than diamonds on my neck.”  ~Emma Goldman

I grew up in a gardening family descended from florists on my mother’s side, so you’d think I’d perhaps had  my fill of it by now, but truth be told, I still get so excited just watching things grow, blossom, and bear fruit.  Such small wonders and yet so precious and memorable.

*******************

Summer classes begin in a week and soon I’ll be taking that trip across the river to join friends and colleagues. . .greeting new students and getting settled in for the next eight weeks.

But for now, I’m just taking advantage of all this time to make new work and be inspired by bees, blossoms and bugs.

“The temple bell stops but I still hear the sound coming out of the flowers. ”
~Basho

http://www.etsy.com/listing/74566121/linen-and-roses-original-acrylic

One response

Leave a Reply

