Manet Made it Look So Easy

Manet’s Still Life^

I would kiss you, had I the courage.
Edouard
Manet

 

As I type this, the work in progress on the easel is based on a photo from last week: a glass pitcher filled with lilies, roses, gerbera daisies, coral bells.

Initially I arranged a still life on the sidewalk table behind my garage, where I could make a photo framed by trees, grass, sunlight and sky.

Afterwards, I took my jump-drive to the copy shop where I noticed the printed image looked a little dark on paper. . .so now I’ve been straining to see the detail, light and shadow in the photo.  But mostly I’m having trouble seeing all the contrast and color on the glass pitcher.

So now I am studying these Manet still lifes, wishing I could somehow channel his talent for this:

I need to find some that are done in a brighter space now. . .some to get me thinking of ways to work on mine too.  Meanwhile, I will try to take Manet’s wise advice to heart:

There is only one true thing: instantly paint what you see. When
you’ve got it, you’ve got it. When you haven’t, you begin again. All the rest is
humbug.
Edouard
Manet

 

One response

  1. I haven’t heard that quopte from Manet before – it’s great advice!
    Good luck with your painting – can’t wait to see the finished product 🙂

Leave a Reply

