On the Mend: New Work, New Prints. . .Lucy, You Got Some Splainin To Do!

After having spent a couple of weeks once more in this recurring episode of what I like to call my bride of frankenstein gig. . . undressed, sedated, i-ved. . .

. . .electrodes fastened to my temples,

I now find myself back to almost normal. . .

shoulder to wheel of this blog once more. . .

And just to update, I am happy to report there was still art. . .

in between the . . .uhm. . . treatments,

a painting in progress to come home to. . .

a commission to finish when that was done. . .

But in the meantime, I thought of Van Gogh and how he always painted

even in the hospital. . .

Ward of Arles Hospital, Vincent Van Gogh

And thank god for him. ..and for Sylvia, who did this stuff without sedation. . .

By the roots of my hair some god got hold of me. / I sizzled in his blue volts like a desert prophet. / The nights snapped out of sight like a lizard’s eyelid:

and stayed around long enough to tell about it. . .

so you wouldn’t feel so all alone when it happened to you. . .

and as they won’t let you bring your easel along on such trips these days,

they take away your shoelaces too. . .

and the hours spent in such places can just be so very long,

with lots of time on your hands. . .

instead I got creative on the table tops, spreading out my feathers. . .brushes. . .collage paste. . .

to work on illustrations for Mary Ladd’s forthcoming book, “Heartbreaking the Astronaut.”

mixed media, 9x12 --Tess Farnham

This piece  in response to Mary’s poem, “Things my Inner Astronaut is Afraid Of,” a work filled with images of life on Mars. . . so I had lots to work with. . .lines like “herds of imitation Elvi,” “raindrops on roses,”  and “sleeping alone.”

I will tell you more in future posts, how to obtain a signed copy of this image if you like it. . . just wanted to let you know I hadn’t abandoned you. . .I’m still here, still breathing. . . still making trouble.

Hugs xoxo!

8 responses

  1. Glad your back! Glad to know the shock treatments didn’t zap your creativity.

    Depression is such a misunderstood disease—you can’t just snap yourself out of it. My mom went through shock treatments. Tough ordeal. You are a strong person, and a survivor — and your creativity will help you heal.

Leave a Reply

