Cannabis Flower Cologne, Anyone?

So today on a facebook thread someone totally turned me on to this  fascinating little line of creatively-named all natural and cruelty-free fragrances that sounds so fun it’s almost poetry.

I will tell you the names in a paragraph or so. . .we need to get your eyes moving down this page  after all.  For now, I can give you a teaser preview though and I will begin with this one:  Wet Garden, Play-Doh, Sex on the Beach.

If, when you get there, you find  yourself yawning at something as familiar as dirt, my apologies. Sadly  I  don’t get out much. . .

So anyway, it was a thread where someone  had started a conversation about overpowering scent and how obnoxious it can be to get ambushed by a fog as far-reaching as thirteen floors after the offender has left the elevator.

Pretty soon we started typing about the ones we COULD tolerate and wear.   And in no time, it became something of a consensus that fragrance should at least be clean and  free of  noxious cloud formations with the stunning and stopping power of apocalyptic taser pistols.

And I was saying how much I like the Origins Ginger Essence and also Lemon Verbena by L’Occitane (the latter I fell in love with shortly after a very sweet student presented a bottle as a thank-you gift. )

demeter fragrance bar at loblaw

demeter fragrance bar at loblaw (Photo credit: wyn ♥ lok)

And  with that, the thread’s author mentioned a line called Demeter, specifically its offering called Thunderstorm, which really got my olfactory imagination going.  So I googled it up. . . and what an interesting list of scents I found there.

Lots of foodie names at first: Banana Flambe, Bubblegum, Jolly Rancher Green Apple, Vanilla Cake Batter, Gin and Tonic. . .

Banana Flambe, aka Bananas Foster

Banana Flambe, aka Bananas Foster (Photo credit: Nealy-J)

My brain gave way like a Land Rover on the High Street as I read those product descriptions.

The reviews on Amazon were pretty positive for the most part too. . .

And how about these names :

Angel Food

Tomato

Paperback, Pipe Tobacco, Hello Kitty, and another called Cannabis Flower.

 Cannabis Flower?  How is that even legal?  

I guess maybe the R and D department has devised a  way of mixing stuff like peppermint and  cabbage to get it.  But still, the only frame of reference I have at this particular juncture of my life is occasional brushes with contact high on the Metrobus.

Actually I carry a small flask of rollerball cologne for quick application on the end of my nose for such occasions. . .the ginger works nicely, though it stings a bit if you use too much. . .

So after facebook, I found myself chatting all of this up once more to a pen-pal best friend in Sweden and he was quick to correct my preconceptions.  “It’s not like tobacco,” he wrote. “More like incense.”

Not sure if he meant the flower though.

But then he’s a guy from a country where the official state bird is pickled herring. . .so that would invariably have an impact on one’s olfactory preferences I guess.

Still I’m intrigued. . .

sugar_frosted

sugar_frosted (Photo credit: sillydog)

Hmmm. . .

So what’s  your favorite scent, gentle reader?

Leave a Reply

