Lady Folk and Blues I

This new work, which is the second of a new and on-going tribute series, was inspired by my love of blues, jazz, folk and gospel music.  I so admire these artists, whose throaty and gutsy homage to heartbreak and survival are soundtrack to my own creative process.

Tess Farnham, "Lady Blues I," mixed media collage on watercolor paper

Tess Farnham, “Lady Blues I,” mixed media collage on watercolor paper

features (clockwise from top) Koko Taylor, Sister Rosetta Tharpe
Lena Horne, Billie Holliday, Nina Simone, Marie Knight, Ella Fizgerald, Bessie Smith. (click on image to see print)

 

 

4 responses

Leave a Reply

