Cut Lilies by Noah Warren

Cut Lilies

Noah Warren
illustration

About This Poem

“‘Cut Lilies’ came during a nadir of loneliness in the early spring. Though I’m not religious, each year I find I need Easter more and more. Blake’s ‘Holy Thursday’ was heavy in my mind as I tried, through something like the pathetic fallacy, to trace the contours of the guilt behind my self-pity and my need.”
—Noah Warren

Noah Warren is the author of The Destroyer in the Glass (Yale University Press, 2016). He is a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University and lives in Palo Alto, California.

 

Photo credit: Ana Flores

Leave a Reply

